#1

Nizhny Novgorod Kremlin is the main sight of the city. The fortress was built according to the schemes made by Leonardo da Vinci. It makes Nizhny Novgorod Kremlin stand out from other Russian kremlins.
Currently all 13 Kremlin towers are reconstructed and are functioning. Koromyslova Tower (“Yoke Tower”) is of major interest from the historical point of view. The name is connected with a story of a brave woman, who was protecting herself with the yoke (in Russian “koromyslo”) against enemies. According to the legend, the courageous woman had died, and was buried under the wall of Kremlin, and the name of the tower commemorates her heroism.

#2

Alexander Nevsky Cathedral is one of the most impressive sights in Nizhny Novgorod. It is not widely known that back in the 19th century, it was built on the raft. The reason for that was the Volga and Oka’s flooding the place of the construction. To deal with the flood issue, an oak raft was used to prevent the destruction of the cathedral’s foundation when the water raised.

#3

It is rather obvious that the historical centre of the city is located on the hills – that is why there are plenty of marvellous stairs in this part of Nizhny.
The Chkalov stairs named after the famous Russian pilot are one of the longest ones in Russia. This 560-step stairs were built by German prisoners of war. Runners’ races are held there every year on June 12 (the Day of Russia) – and the fastest runner is awarded an auto.
The Chkalov Stairs have their smaller but no less beautiful copy, the Theatre Stairs which lead from the central, higher part of the city down to the Zelensky descent road; however, due to their location they are unnoticed by tourists rather. They were also built in the aftermath of the Second World War by German prisoners who worked there in recompense for the destruction of Nizhny Novgorod during bombardments.

#4

In Nizhny Novgorod State Art Museum, you have an opportunity to see one of the largest canvases in the world created by the famous academic painter Konstantin Makovsky: ‘The Appeal of Minin’. It has impressive dimensions - 6 x 7 m. The canvas reflects the events of 1612 when the honourable residents of Nizhny Novgorod Minin and Pozharsky gathered a militia to liberate Moscow from being captured by Poles.

#5

On August 4, 1959 Nizhny Novgorod (at that time the city was known as Gorky) became a “closed city”, i.e. closed for foreigners, because defense factories were operating there during the Soviet era. Tourists from different countries sailed on cruise ships up the Volga only at night, without disembarking. Nizhny Novgorod became “an open city” again on September 6, 1991, but Sarov, a town located in Nizhny Novgorod region, is still closed not only for foreigners, but also for everyone else who is not registered there.

#6

There is a deer on the arms of Nizhny Novgorod. How did it get there? Deers have been nowhere to be seen in Nizhny Novgorod region for ages. The deer is considered to be a symbol of strength and bravery, the triumph of good over evil. According to some experts, the arms of Nizhny Novgorod originally depicted an elk (which inhabit the region). Meat of elk is thought to have nourished Russian warriors during the war against the Khanate of Kazan. When Kazan had been occupied, Tsar Ivan IV ordered to carve that animal on the Nizhny Novgorod seal.

#7

The greatest Russian poet Alexander Pushkin lived and worked here, in Nizhny Novgorod, for some time. During one of his visits he was mistaken for a government inspector. He was not a little amused by this, and subsequently told this story to Nikolai Gogol, who made his famous play The Government Inspector out of it.

#8

Cheburashka, the cutest character of the famous Russian cartoon series, a funny animal-like figure, got his name thanks to Nizhny Novgorod. While being here, its creator Eduard Uspensky happened to come across the Russian slang word “cheburachnut’sya” (to fall down clumsily), what determined the name and the essence of the figure.

#9

Few people know that Nizhny Novgorod is sometimes called “The Russian Hollywood”. There are certain grounds for that. This city is deeply appreciated by film directors, and, as a proof of that, here you can see the titles of only a couple of the films whose episodes were shot in the city: Dead Man’s Bluff, Silent Souls, Miss Millionaire, Ekaterina Voronina, The Night is Young, The President Hotel, The Barber of Siberia, A Rough Draft, The Method, A Cruel Romance.

#10

“Small worlds” first appeared in Nizhny Novgorod. Street artists Ivan Seriy and Tatiana Konstantinova use space in damaged walls to create small worlds that are as small as a brick. Each of them is a story of ordinary people’s life. Recently, Ivan Seriy has founded a mini-gallery named FUTURO MINOR.

10 фактов о Нижнем Новгороде

Как Чебурашка связан с городом, сколько ступенек на самой известной лестнице, какие фильмы снимали в Нижнем и другие факты узнайте здесь

Факт 1

Нижегородский Кремль – главная достопримечательность города. Крепость строили по схемам Леонардо-да-Винчи, и этим она сильно отличается от всех остальных российских кремлей.

Сейчас все 13 башен Кремля восстановлены и функционируют. Наиболее интересна с точки зрения истории Коромыслова башня. Эта башня названа в честь храброй женщины, которая при нападении врагов защищалась коромыслом. По легенде, отважная защитница погибла, и её похоронили под стеной кремля, а башню назвали в память о её подвиге.

Факт 2

Кафедральный собор Александра Невского является одной из самых монументальных достопримечательностей Нижнего Новгорода. Мало кто знает, что в 19-м веке храм строили на плоту. Дело в том, что местность в районе слияния Волги и Оки ежегодно затапливало с разливом рек. Чтобы решить проблему подтопления, при строительстве использовали плот из мореного дуба, что позволило избежать разрушения фундамента во время паводка.

Факт 3

Ни для кого не секрет, что Нижний Новгород стоит на возвышенности. Для удобного подъема и спуска жителей и гостей города в Нижнем построено много красивых лестниц.

Чкаловская лестница одна из самых длинных лестниц в России. Лестницу строили военнопленные немцы, она насчитывает 560 ступеней. Ежегодно в День Города и День России 12 июня по лестнице устраиваются забеги. Самый быстрый бегун получает в качестве приза автомобиль.

У Чкаловской лестницы есть не менее красивый двойник. Уменьшенная «копия» называется Театральной по имени площади, возле которой располагается. Она уводит с Лыковой дамбы на Зеленский съезд, прячась от глаз туристов. Строили лестницу в 1945-1946 годах немецкие военнопленные, которых привлекли к работам в качестве компенсации за разрушение Нижнего Новгорода бомбежками. Лестница является памятником архитектуры.

Факт 4

В Нижегородском государственном художественном музее находится одно из самых больших полотен в мире, написанное художником Константином Маковским. Картина «Воззвание Козьмы Минина» имеет внушительные размеры 6 на 7 метров. Работа отражает события 1612 года, когда почетные нижегородцы Минин и Пожарский собрали народное ополчение для освобождения Москвы от захвативших ее поляков.

Факт 5

4 августа 1959 года Нижний Новгород (на тот момент Горький) стал закрытым для посещения иностранцев, поскольку в городе в советское время находились оборонные заводы. Туристы из разных стран проплывали на круизных теплоходах по Волге исключительно ночью, без высадки на берег. Вновь город стал открытым 6 сентября 1991 года. А вот Саров, расположенный в Нижегородской области, до сих пор закрыт не только для иностранцев, но и для всех остальных, кто там не прописан.

Факт 6

На гербе Нижнего Новгорода уютно расположился олень. Откуда он там? Ведь в здешней полосе с давних времен оленей не наблюдалось.
Считается, что символ оленя является признаком силы и мужества, победы светлых сил над темными. По мнению ряда экспертов, изначально на гербе Нижнего Новгорода был лось (родной данной земле зверь). Есть данные, что при Иване Грозном мясо лося давало силы русским воинам в борьбе с Казанским ханством. И после взятия Казани царь повелел использовать образ этого зверя для нижегородской печати.

Факт 7

На нижегородской земле некоторое время жил и работал великий русский писатель Александр Сергеевич Пушкин. Во время одного из визитов в Нижний Александр Сергеевич был принят за ревизора. Этот случай позабавил его, и он рассказал о нём Гоголю, который впоследствии на его основе и написал своего знаменитого «Ревизора».

Факт 8

Самый милый персонаж Эдуарда Успенского Чебурашка получил свое имя благодаря Нижнему Новгороду. Эдуард Николаевич однажды услышал на улице Нижнего Новгорода слово «чебурахнуться» применительно к неуклюжему падению.

Факт 9

Мало кто знает, что Нижний Новгород горожане называют русским Голливудом. И, как оказывается, неспроста. Этот город любят режиссеры, и в подтверждение тому назовем лишь несколько фильмов, эпизоды которых были сняты на нижегородских улицах: «Жмурки», «Овсянки», «Мисс миллионерша», «Екатерина Воронина», «Еще не вечер», «Отель «Президент»», «Сибирский цирюльник», «Черновик», «Метод», «Жестокий романс».

Факт 10

Нижний – родина маленьких миров.

Уличные художники Иван Серый и Татьяна Константинова создают на улицах Нижнего Новгорода маленькие миры (размером с кирпич) в разрушенных стенах. Каждая история – поучительный рассказ о жизни обычных людей. А не так давно Иван основал мини галерею FUTURO MINOR.